About Us

The ASEAN Deans’ Summit sought to cultivate collaboration among esteemed medical institutions in the ASEAN region, with a focus on advancing global standards in medical education and healthcare systems. Its primary goal was to lay the groundwork for unified action in 2015.

Historic Gathering:

In a significant milestone for ASEAN, the summit marked the inaugural gathering of medical education leaders, including Deans and Rectors, from 10 nations: Thailand, Laos, Myanmar, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Brunei. The convergence took place at Siriraj, serving as a platform for sharing visions and collaborative ideas for the collective benefit of the 600 million people within the ASEAN community.

Diverse Participation:

The historic summit witnessed the participation of 12 prominent medical schools from various ASEAN countries, adding depth to the collaborative discussions. Institutions such as PAPRSB Institute of Health Sciences, Universiti Brunei Darussalam; Faculty of Medicine, University of Health Sciences, Cambodia; International University, Cambodia; Faculty of Medicine, Universitas Indonesia; Faculty of Medicine, University of Health Sciences, Lao PDR; Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya, Malaysia; University of Medicine 1, Yangon, Myanmar; University of Medicine, Mandalay, Myanmar; University of Philippines College of Medicine; Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore; and Hanoi Medical University, Vietnam played a crucial role in this historic event.

ASEAN Medical Schools Network Structure:

The ASEAN Medical Schools Network was established with a structured framework comprising four working groups. These groups were designed to facilitate collaborative efforts and strategic planning for the advancement of medical education and healthcare systems within the ASEAN community.

Education WGStudent Exchange WGResearch WGAccreditation WG
Chaired by
Dean Adeeba Binti
University of

Chaired by
Dean Ratna Sitompul
University of
Chaired by
Dean Yeoh Khay Guan
National University
of Singapore
Prof. Dr. Ruengpung
Co-chaired by
Faculty of Medicine
Siriraj Hospital
Chaired by
Dean Agnes Dominguez Mejia
University of Philippines
College of Medicine
Co-chaired by
Prof. Suwannee
Faculty of Medicine
Siriraj Hospital


China-ASEAN University Consortium on Medicine and Health, a collaborative initiative established on October 14, 2019, by leaders from 42 universities in China and ASEAN countries. At the heart of our mission is a commitment to addressing regional and global challenges in health and medicine, fostering exchange, and promoting cooperation in medical education, research, and healthcare.

As our world continues to become more interconnected, the need for cooperation in medicine and health has become increasingly urgent. In response to this demand, the Consortium operates with a focus on promoting “peace and cooperation, openness and inclusiveness, mutual learning, and mutual benefit.” Our goal is to establish mechanisms for multilateral cooperation and innovative models that can effectively meet the evolving needs of our communities.

The Consortium founding institutions, represented by leaders from Chinese and ASEAN universities, are dedicated to turning today’s expectations into tomorrow’s success. Join us on this journey as we strive for excellence in medical education, research, and healthcare, fostering sustainable development and collaboration in the region and beyond.

Chinese Universities in alphabetic order

  • Beijing University of Chinese Medicine
  • Capital Medical University
  • Central South University Xiangya School of Medicine
  • Guangxi Medical University
  • Guizhou Medical University
  • Guizhou University of Traditional Chinese Medicine
  • Harbin Medical University

  • Huazhong University of Science and Technology
  • Peking Union Medical College
  • Peking University Health Science Center
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine
  • Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University
  • Shihezi University School of Medicine
  • Sichuan University
  • Sun Yat-Sen University

  • Tianjin Medical University
  • Tongji University School of Medicine
  • Wuhan University
  • Xi’an Jiaotong University
  • Zhejiang University School of Medicine
  • Zunyi Medical University